Join for Free  |  Login
Loading...
Changes Saved.
Error Occurred!
Back

Recovering from lost setup data on a Shared Folder setup

Using the Shared Data folder is great for a 2 or 3 computer setup where everyone knows what they are doing. However, a person who does not or makes a mistake can mess up the setup data for everyone.

For larger installations, we would recommend using the ProSelect Network Server which you can configure to only allow certain people to make changes to your setup data. 

This article will help you recover from a messed up data situation using either your recent backup copy or one of the auto-backup copies kept by ProSelect. It assumes that you have only made no or very few changes to your ProSelect Resources folder. If you have, then you should recover this from your backup copy of your ProSelect Resources folder to your shared location before proceeding further.

You have a recent backup copy

If you are keeping regular backup copies of your ProSelect Data file.

Make sure that no other computers are running ProSelect then, on your main computer, do the following:

1. Start ProSelect

2. Use ProSelect Data -> Import Data from (under the File menu) and choose your most recent backup of this file.

3. After ProSelect has loaded the file, check that all your setup is correct. If not, close ProSelect and either choose another backup copy or follow the instruction in the "You don't have a recent backup copy" section below.

7. When you have found the correct (or best) backup version, copy this to the shared location by opening the Preferences -> General Setting -> Sharing and select the Shared Data Folder option. 

8. In the Sharing Setup window that opens, make sure that the correct path to your shared data folder is selected at the top. Update it if not.

9. Click the Send to Shared button to send the copy of your restored data file to the shared location then close this window and Save the Preferences setting.

10. Close and re-open ProSelect. There should be no warnings and your setup data should all be there. The green Shared Folder Icon should be shown in the bottom left corner of the main window.

Recovering on your other computers

Then, on each of your other computers - one at a time - do the following:

1. Start ProSelect on each computer.

2. If they have sharing turned on, then likely you will see a message that the local copy of the data file is NEWER than the copy in the shared location. Choose the Get/Update from Shared option to copy your restored file back to that machine. If you don't get this message on startup, then choose ProSelect Data -> Update from Shared Location (under the File Menu).

3. Check that the setup data matches your main computer.

You have no recent backup copy

Make sure that no other computers are running ProSelect.

On your main computer,

1. Start ProSelect while holding down the SHIFT key. This will open the startup options window.

2. Check the Turn off Sharing checkbox.

3. Check the Reset ProSelect Data checkbox and select Restore from Auto-backup option.

4. In the dropdown menu, chose one of the auto-backup copies that was saved just before you first lost your setup data. You can see this by the date and the size of the file (see page 347 of the ProSelect 2019r1 Reference Manual). Likely your data file will be larger than the default one.

5. Press the Continue button.

6. After ProSelect has loaded check that all your setup is correct. If not, close ProSelect and go back to step one and choose another backup copy.

7. When you have found the correct (or best) backup version, copy this to the shared location by opening the Preferences -> General Setting -> Sharing and select the Shared Data Folder option. 

8. In the Sharing Setup window that opens, make sure that the correct path to your shared data folder is selected at the top. Update it if not.

9. Click the Send to Shared button to send the copy of your restored data file to the shared location then close this window and Save the Preferences setting.

10. Close and re-open ProSelect. There should be no warnings and your setup data should all be there. The green Shared Folder Icon should be shown in the bottom left corner of the main window.

To recover your other computers, follow the steps in the "Recovering on your other computers" section above.




  KnowledgeBase Article: Recovering from lost setup data on a Shared Folder setup  

Related Articles